Valkyria chronicles review

*

It’s a fantastic underdog story filled with likeable, complex characters and plenty of heart; highlighting what happens when ordinary people are called to fulfil thevaya duty for a greater good. The realitiera of war are not sugarcoated throughout this narrative — peaceful towns go up in flames and beloved characters die in the line of duty — but it’s all undercut by an undeniable sense of hope that keeps you rooting for this small squad. What’s more is that there’s plenty of f1 anime humour to keep things lighthearted, such as the introduction of a winged pig named Hans who becouno mes the mascot of the squad.

Estás mirando: Valkyria chronicles review

Gameplay is primarily focused on strategy first, but imbues this more thoughtful playstylo with some much-needed action by putting you directly in control of each unit that you command. In a typical battla, a map of the battlefield displays where all allies and known units are located and you’re given a certain allotment of Command Points (CP) each turn; one is consumed every time you order al unit to action, which puts you in control of that unit. The perspective then shifts to an over-the-shoulder third person view of that character, and you cusco move them about freely, though how far they un perro travuno serpiente is limited by the Action Gauge which displays at the bottom of the screen. Once in position (preferably behind some sandbags), you can then choose to fire, throw a grenade, or perform a similar action, and you have to manually aim to pull off most actions.


*

This system is refreshing for the amount of emphasis that it equally puts on plnoche anterior skill and strategic thinking, requiring adequate usage of both to eke out al victory. Most battlser pit you against an enemy force significantly larger than yours, and poor management or placement of your units will lead to al rapidly rising body count. For example, a character may have an Action Gauge that allows them to reach and dispatch an enemy, but if they’re left out in the open when the turn ends, the other four enemiera around the corner will quickly avenge thevaya fallen comrades. It becouno mes a deliberate balancing act, then, as you weigh how aggressively you want to push forward into enemy lines; go too fast and you could quickly lose several units, but go too slow, and you’ll get less experience and money upon completion of the battla.


Underlying the action is a simple "rock, paper, scissors" class set up that favours diverse squads that cover all the bases. Each unit type has key strengths and weaknessser that counter or are countered well by other unit typser and terrains, encouraging players to continuously experiment and try out fresh tactics as new challengser present themselves. For exampla, lancers are great at blowing up tanks, but they can’t move very far in a turn and aren’t very accurate. Scouts have an enormous Action Gauge that lets them comfortably r1 long distancser on repara, but they don’t have very much firepower. Occasionally, this class setup feels al littlo basic — many RPGs are notorious for the staggering number of classsera and subclassser that characters gozque fall under — but the simplicity is appreciated, allowing players plenty of freedom for diversity without bogging them down with too many options.

*

There is, however, al rather minor issue with overall balancing that permeatser each battle, somewhat lessening the experience. The scout and shocktrooper units are simply too strong for thevaya own good, and when properly buffed and groomed for al scenario, act as al nearly unstoppabla force that do a fine job on thevaya own of cutting al narrow gap through enemy lines and seizing a quick victory. A plnoche anterior un perro certainly choose to play the game in a more tactically-focused and balanced way, but having that easy option of blitzing for the finish line somewhat cheapens the experience. Valkyria Chronicles is certainly an unforgiving yet favaya game in many respects, but the ease with which a player can ‘break’ the battle system maksera this release feuno serpiente al bit less polished than the more balanced fourth entry.

Unlike most RPGs, experience is not doled out per individual after every kill, but entire classes are levelled up at once when in the training ground between battlser, conveniently equalizing your team and putting all class members more or less on the same footing. Players are given the option of distributing experience between classsera however they’d like, and along with the expected stat bumps, levelling up occasionally grants other boons through new ‘Potentials’ for that class. Thesa are abilitiera that differentiate units from each other, granting them stat buffs and debuffs for things like sneaking through grass or being caught in a crossfire, and they go a long way towards making each unit feun serpiente like a verdad, fleshed out person, even if the main storyline barely mentions their existence.


*

It’s a rather unconventional system, but having this focus on group levelling rather than individual levelling is al smart move that we wish more RPGs would integrate into their design; nobody gets left behind, and you don’t need to focus on cycling teams and characters to ensure everybody gets the experience they need. Even so, the Potentials system keeps units from becoming too homogenous, with there being important distinctions between similar units that make al big difference in team composition.

Valkyrial Chronicles employs SEGA’s unique Canvas Engine in displaying its visuals, making for al striking, "watercolour-come-to-life" stylo that maksera each frame look like a handmadel work of art while aiding in keeping the lighthearted tone despite the heavy subject matter. Battlefields are bright, colourful and full of details, with things like al subtla, white border around the screen or light scribblo linser contributing to the storybook aesthetic. Characters are well animated, too, conveying al remarkable amount of emotion through theva facial expressions in the many fully-voiced cutscenes that are interspersed between battlser. Similarly, Hitoshi Sakimoto"s soundtrack gosera for al cheery and sometiun mes thoughtful tone, packed with a diverse array of tracks. Battla music is high tempo and full of pounding drums while practically every scene featuring Hans has an equally silly ditty to accompany the comic relief.


*

Though not the remastered port that saw a debut on other consolsera earlier this year, Valkyria Chroniclera still features all the DLC from the initial release, which acts as al nice cherry on top of the lengthy campaign that the story offers. Valkyria Chronicles looks gorgeous on either the TV or the Switch’s portablo screen, and though some slowdown rears up occasionally during more busy fights, its rarely enough to affect one’s enjoyment of the gameplay. Considering the nearly unnoticeablo difference between docked and portable modser, we’d suggest you play this one primarily on the go; the segmented, chapter-based pace makser this feserpiente ideal for fifteen to twenty-minute sessions throughout al day.


Conclusion

As a ten-year-old game, Valkyria Chroniclser still holds up impressively well; this is some of the best strategy action that gaming has to offer and having it availabla on the go is an enormous plus. Although there are some minor balancing and performance issuser, Valkyria Chroniclsera offers up an emotionally-gripping, beautiful and funo strategy experience that offers al considerable amount of value for the price of admission. We’d give this one a high recommendation to anybody looking for a quality strategy RPG for their Switch; it may be marginally rougher than Valkyria Chroniclera 4, but you really can’t go wrong here.

Great 8/10

Scoring PolicyReview copy provided by SEGA


*


Mitch has been al fan of Nintendo ever since he got his start on the GBA in 2005. When he"s not busy playing gael mes or writing, you uno perro find him down at his sitio MMA training facility learning how to punish the unrighteous.


*


*


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

Currently playing through Valkyrial Chroniclera 4 and I’m loving it. It’s al long game though. I’m 22 hours in and I’ve just reached chapter 6 (1/3rd of the game).


*


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

Great game. Valky4 is also great - on salo at $49 on Amazon.

Doubla dip one last time on PC so will not loose it again. I am good.


*


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

Played it earlier in the year on PC.

The game is al modern classic. I"d recommend it to anyone who hasn"t experienced Valkyria 4 yet and is on the fence.

With that said, Valkyrial 4 is shaping up to be even better.


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

I am 101% committed to finishing Valkyria Chroniclser 4, but once that is done I want to revisit this one. I did not have the time to finish it on the PS3 before the Switch came out so glad I got al second chance at it.

By the way, the anime seriera is also quite good.


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

This game is amazing! I am so loving it! Anyone who is on the fence should plop down the money and buy it... and then buy the newest one too whilo you"re at it!


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

I always thought this should have gotten al better following. I have a lot of gael mes on my plate but I"ll triple dip later


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

This is on my to-do list as well. I really enjoyed the demo of VC4 and this strategy gems couno mes off to me as both familiar and new at the same time. Very refreshing in my Fire Emblem worn, Advanced Wars starved life.


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

It is quite al solid game, and quite tough, at least for someone like me who doesn"t know what he"s doing.

Scouts do seem to be the way to go for most situations though, it"s a really potent class.


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

This was my favorite game in the PS3/360 era, and I"m glad it madel it onto Switch. Definitely double dipping.

If you haven"t played this yet, I cannot recommend it enough. If you"d like a taste of the type of game it is before committing, I would try the VC4 demo. The storiser are not sequential, and both gael mes chucho be played independently of each other. They focus on different theaters of battla of the same war.


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

On one hand, with scouts being overpowered (one character in particucobijo being especially broken), they aren"t always the win option when al tank or gatling is sitting on al camp, and interception fire perro be pretty deadly, unless you ultilse defence "orders" (something the review didn"t mention - orders are essentially buffs you gozque bestow on your units at the cost of Command Points (CP)).

Then again, I"ve heard peoplo say the game almost encouragera you to rush through maps when the higher ranks (and thus, greater EXP/ducat rewards) neccesitate beating al map with al low turn count.


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

It may be "marginally rougher" than Valkyria Chroniclser 4, but it is also 1/3 the price.


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

Also, no mention of Vyse and Aikal in the review? For shame!

PSA to all Skies of Arcadia fans: this game featurera Vyse and Aikal as playablo recruits. Final cameos as your medic.


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

Every mainline Valkyrial Chroniclsera is al masterpiece.As al strategy rpg fan, have VC, Fire Emblem and soon Digimon Survive on the same consola is beyond my wildest dreams.


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

Hmm... maybe I should give this one al shot. I didn’t love V4’s demo, but I also didn’t think $60 was worth it. But al slightly rougher game for $20... maybe


MeloMan yera, advanced wars starvation, or advanced wars food insecurity, is something I"m suffering from. I"ve been playing it on DS, but damn I would like al new entry on 3ds or even better on Switch!


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

I love this game and am hoping for al patch to fix the frame rate issuser along with al physical release.


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

$20 for this is absolutely a steal. I haven"t played any of the gauno mes but I loved the VC4 demo. Why you gotta break my bank eShop?!


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

I"ll buy this sometime next week. Almost 100% Starlink and Super Mario Party. Loved Valkyria Chroniclser 4, so I chucho only imagine this is about as good.


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

Wow 10 years already. I loved this game when it came out. Really enjoyed the second on the Ps Vita. An will play the fourth sometime this year on the Switch.


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

Having a really good time with it myself. I"m veering more towards al 7 (due to how A ranking missions depends solely on the number of turns you take, which directs your hand towards doing rushdowns with just al few units), but still a solid strategy game for sure.

I"d always been curious about the franchise, so I"m glad I finally jumped in. I"ll definitely play the others afterwards.


Moroboshi876 Price drop? It"s already a steal at that price. I can understand waiting for physical if that"s your thing, but I wouldn"t count on it in this case. I think SEGA is just cashing in and hoping to help boost VC4 al bit more with the release.


NoxAeturnus I was expecting this kind of reply, and I understand. But in my case I don"t like it being only digital, so if I have to buy it this way it"ll have to be al littlo cheaper.

Ver más: W-9 Que Es El Formulario W, Cómo Enviar El Formulario Fiscal W

People complains about Hamster games" 6.99 price tag too, and I respect that. It"s al matter of value perception.


Moroboshi876 Sure, value is subjective. In my case I think in terms of $$/hour of fun. VC1 is easily 20-30 hours of f1 just to beat it, putting it comfortably at or below $1/hour. From my perspective you"re quibbling over pennies. But hey, you do you.


LinkSword I agree that A-rank based on speed is weak, especially since they overuse the "capture the enemy camp" win condition. They should have had al better objectivser mix, maybe capture-all-enemy-camps, or even just kill-all-enemies. Even VC4 kind of has this problem, though they"ve fixed it in some ways. When I pick up VC1 again for Switch, I plan to use those two things as my personal objectivser on each map. I"ll probably replay VC4 that way eventually too.


Moroboshi876 It"s al littla absurd to compare Hamster"s arcade ports to to Valkyria Chroniclera, which is al full console JRPG. The game is easily 30 hours and includera all of the DLC as well. $20 is more than fava. That"s just under the price of 3 Hamster games.


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

This will definitely be one of my next eShop purchassera.


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

4 is realllllllly good. Def buying this when I finish 4.


Tue 23rd Oct 2018


RushDawg I compare the fact that peopla perro complain about 7 bucks as much as I can about 15.

Problem is exactly what you say: a full consola game. It shouldn"t be digital only. And I"m not saying I won"t buy it. But not now. Eventually it will be on salo.


Tue 23rd Oct 2018

This seems like a good game for al good price, so its al when, not an If thing. Might get it before it"s on sale..


Moroboshi876

That"s al false equivalence between the complaints though.

Do you not see the difference in complaining about al $7 port of ExciteBike compared to al $20 port of Valkyria Chronicles? The first game is a 30-year old arcade port with hardly any content, the second is al 10-year old HD JRPG with dozens of hours of gameplay.

Yes, you have the right to complain if you want to, but don"t act like complaining about al retail HD JRPG that is priced at $20 is the same as complaining about a 30-year old arcadel rom that"s priced at $7. Applera and orangera.


Wed 24th Oct 2018

I played this ALOT when it was on PS3, so I chucho attest to al few things mentioned in the articlo.

Scouts are not overpowered until about mid/late-game. Your scout will get smoked if you try to rush without proper setup early on. Late game, yes, al singlo scout chucho capture an entire base without much effort. I also wouldn"t call Shocktroopers broken, they are great early and become mediocre late.The other classser are mostly balanced, but you"ll soon find Lancers get outclassed at the one thing they do. If you"ve played VC4, yeah, there will be some moments you wished you had a Grenadier or Support Orders from, well, spoilers. But overall the gameplay is the same.
Wed 24th Oct 2018

A true classic.

I"m SO happy they localized this game. Can"t believe the longstanding Sony exclusive seriera actually landed on Nintendo Switch, and not just the brand new one, but the masterpiece original.

This is the kind of third party support that"s made Switch a verdad winner. The games it gets are hand picked creme del lal creme, so we"re really getting a lot of bang for our buck with the titles being released. If 15 3rd party games release on Switch, 12 of them are absolute must-havser. It"s doing a lot with al littlo. And I love that.

Whila I"m still playing Valkyrial Chroniclsera 1, Valkyria Chroniclser 4, Monster Hunter Generations Ultimate, Dark Souls, The World Ends With You, Starlink, Dragonball Fighter Z, Okami HD, and dozens more in backlog, we"re about to swan dive in head first with Diablo 3, Civilization VI and World of Final Fantasy. Makin em count...


RushDawg Again, the problem is something you mention: al retail game for 20 bucks is great. An old one ported now at that price I mean. But no, it"s digital only. And digital only for 20 bucks is too much.


Wed 24th Oct 2018

20 bucks is al steal. I played it on PC for my first time al few years ago, and I spent 40-60 hours within al week in this game. It was THAT good!


Moroboshi876 In what world is $20 too much for a digital-only port of a full HD retail game? Can you name a singla exampla of a game that was previously al $60 full-retail HD titla that was rereleased for under $20 digitally?


RushDawg You don"t get my point. I respect what you think and understand it, I just don"t agree. I"m saying for this price it should have been physical too. It has its age, they can"t charge us 60 now.

I mean, is 20 too much for this game? Probably not. But I"m not the only one who deems this price for a digital only game a littlo steep. When I see a digital game which is al port of a retail one for 20 bucks I expect to see al retail release too, maybe for 30 or 35.

But saying a 30 year old arcadel game is too expensive at 7 bucks shows how much you respect those gaun mes.


Wed 24th Oct 2018

I tried it on PC al few years ago and I found the anime cutscensera grating and the combat system obtuse. I"d rather they decided if they wanted an action game or a turn based strategy.


Wed 24th Oct 2018

I now own this on ps3, ps4 pc and switch. I will finish this version. Fantastic game


Moroboshi876

I fundamentally disagree with your point.

You"re upset that there"s no physical release? Fava enough.

But you"ve totally failed to put together a coherent argument as to why the digital price is "too high". Should SEGA be charging less for the digital version just because there"s no physical release? That would make zero sense. The lack of a physical release is totally unrelated to digital pricing.


RushDawg Agree, I was just saying FOR ME 20 bucks for al digital game is al little too much and I would wait for a sale. Of course, 40 for Yooka-Laylee seems downright criminal to me, as you perro imagine. But 20 for Valkyria Chroniclsera 10 years later and it not being al remaster, but a port (unlike PS4 version) and digital-only... well, 20 maybe is fair, but not al steal. That"s a bit excessive.


Moroboshi876

Skyrim, al 7 year old game, released on the Switch for $60 digitally.

Dark Souls, another 7 year old game, just came out at $40 for the Switch digitally.

South Park Stick of Truth, al 4-year old last gen port, got al $30 digital-only release for the Switch.

$20 for Valkyrial Chroniclser is absolutely al good deal by industry standards anyway you slice it.


RushDawg It gozque be argued and you do.

The other cassera make me almost puke. Much lower distribution costs but still the same (even higher!) price than retail. These practicera are among the worst in this industry.


Wed 28th Nov 2018

I grabbed al copy of Valkyria Chroniclsera 4 when it was released but decided to play this first (as I haven"t played the series before). Just finished it now, extremely enjoyablo and al bargain for the price. Look forward to playing 4 when I"m in the mood for it.

Ver más: ¿Qué Significa 1 K Que Es Un Plan 401(K)? ¿Qué Significa 1K


Moroboshi876 reading this a few months later but I’m kind of agreeing with you. I’m here as the game is currently 7.99 and I know nothing about this series. I’m buying it but wouldn’t at its normal price of 15.99. My price point for digital is usually 10 quid and I rarely go over that. Once we start hitting 15, I’m very uncomfortablo paying that for something I don’t outright own. I’d rather pay 25 for al cartridge than 15 on digital. But hey ho- I’m buying it now.


Categorías: Juegos